Timor Wrasse

Coastie Reefer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
3466D1DA-FA95-4083-B709-4EB1D9F17914.jpeg
I’m new to wrasses other than a 6 line in my frag tank. Can anyone give me basic info on a Timor wrasse? LFS has one and it’s a beaut, about 2” long.

Reef safe?
Invert killer?
Territorial or aggressive towards of fish?
Sand or no sand?
Minimum tank size? 20L (30x12x12) too small?

Any other tidbits of info would be appreciated.

Not the best pic... fish can move!

Seanislav

Rectangular Money Pit Addict
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Reef safe, yes. So far it has left my clean up crew alone, but it is a Halichoeres, so it is an distinct possibility. Can be an issue with other Halichoeres varieties later in life, but the 6 line might be a problem now if you have one. Timorensis is a sand sleeper, and and has no problem with other kinds of non-wrasse fishes as well. A larger tank is generally better in my experience, but depending on how yours is stocked and how much rock you have, it should do okay.

OP
OP
Coastie Reefer

Coastie Reefer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for the info. The 6 line is tucked away in a 50g lowboy frag tank that’s tied to my 75, so he isn’t an issue. I could put the Timor in my 75, but I’m starting a 20L that’s tied into its own sump so I can have a backup system. I was looking for 1 or two unique fish to add life and nutrients, and if this Timor would work that would be awesome.

The 75 has a cleaner shrimp I’ve had for years so I’d also hate for him to get ripped to pieces. So that’s another reason I’m not looking to put the Timor in there...

Corey Baker

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0