Acan Maxima or Scolymia?

MilnReef

Cleaner Shrimp
Hi
Just purchased this coral from lfs and some discussion as to what it is ... the lfs came to the conclusion that it was an acan maxima but I lean towards it being a Scolymia. Only thing is I have other Scoly's and this one's feeding tentacles are different in that the whole body flattens and turns inside out on itself (see photo's).
What do you think ... many people claim rare Acan Maxima which are really Scolymia?
Here's my Scoly feeding -
20180527_123634.jpg

And here's photos of the new coral -
20180910_103734.jpg
20180908_230845.jpg 20180908_230915.jpg

Have you got a pic of the base? Could be some sort of trachy to?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Not that I'm an expert ... Acan Maxima are reputed to be restricted to the sea off of Oman and exports are banned.
That's not to say there have never been any in the trade at some point - or that there are definitely no other sources.
Definitely not a trachy ... it's attached to a piece of flat rock so impossible to see it's base. When disturbed it shrinks to the size of a small plum about 35mm in diameter ... through the day it inflates to about double that size ... about 65-70mm or around two and a half inches in old money :)

Looking at it again it could be a máxima it’s very similar to the pics on google, really nice looking to

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Looks like a cynarina to me. I have one very similar but different colours. It's of the scan family but has a sub species all on its own. It's out flat and huge during the day to maximize on light intake but then at night the feeding tentacles come out just like yours.

Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk

I think it’s on of those mini scolymia, I’ve kept them over the years and never really found out the scientific/Latin name